Skip to main content

GIS Mapping

NITI Aayog has been assigned the responsibility of formulation of National Energy Policy (NEP), wherein consolidation of energy data input is an integral part. After formulation of NEP, NITI Aayog would need to review the action taken by the respective Energy Ministries to follow up the suggested policy interventions. Creation of GIS-based Energy map would be vital for the above action and future policy corrections. The Energy Ministries (related to Power, Coal, Renewable Energy, Petroleum and Atomic Energy) have their own energy-related maps but not a consolidated energy map of India.


Keeping in mind the necessity, under SGWG (a working Group under India-US Energy Dialogue framework), NITI Aayog has taken initial steps towards developing an integrated and dynamic GIS-based Energy Map of India. The proposed map will have several attributes for each of the energy sectors viz. oil & gas, coal, renewables and electricity. Respective attributes will have further sub-attributes like plant name, primary fuel, capacity and district/ state etc.


A technical committee comprising of representatives from lined energy ministries, ISRO, NIC and NITI Aayog under the chairmanship of Additional Secretary (Energy) has been set up by NITI Aayog for a preparation of GIS Energy map of India. This committee would examine the technical issues in the formulation of an energy map, for instance, ownership/updating/maintenance of energy map and other related issues. The first meeting of the technical committee was held in December 2016 in NITI Aayog under the Chairmanship of Additional Secretary (Energy), NITI Aayog. In line with multiple discussions and deliberations, it was decided that the work related to the development of a comprehensive GIS-based Energy map of India should be undertaken by Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) as they got enough technical expertise and manpower which could be effectively leveraged for developing the map. Subsequently, a Memorandum of Understanding between NITI Aayog and ISRO was signed on June 7, 2017, for the development of Geospatial Energy Portal for India.