Skip to main content

National Institution for Transforming India, better known as NITI Aayog, was formed via a resolution of the Union Cabinet on 1 January 2015. 

NITI Aayog is the premier policy think tank of the Government of India, providing directional and policy inputs. Apart from designing strategic and long-term policies and programmes for the Government of India, NITI Aayog also provides relevant technical advice to the Centre, States, and Union Territories.


The Governing Council of NITI Aayog is chaired by the Hon'ble Prime Minister and comprises Chief Ministers of all the States and Union Territories with legislatures and Lt Governors of other Union Territories. The Governing Council was reconstituted vide a notification dated 19 February 2021 by the Cabinet Secretariat.


The Government of India constituted NITI Aayog to replace the Planning Commission, which had been instituted in 1950. This step was taken to better serve the needs and aspirations of the people. An important evolutionary change, NITI Aayog acts as the quintessential platform of the Government of India to bring the States to act together in national interest, and thereby fosters cooperative federalism.


On 18 September 2021, the Hon'ble Prime Minister approved the reconstitution of NITI Aayog, as under: 


1. Chairperson: Hon'ble Shri Narendra Modi, Prime Minister of India 

2. Vice Chairperson: Dr Rajiv Kumar 

3. Full-Time Members:

  • Shri VK Saraswat

  • Prof. Ramesh Chand

  • Dr VK Paul 

4. Ex-Officio Members: 

  • Shri Rajnath Singh, Minister of Defence

  • Shri Amit Shah, Minister of Home Affairs and Minister of Cooperation

  • Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of Finance and Minister of Corporate Affairs

  • Shri Narendra Singh Tomar, Minister of Agriculture and Farmers' Welfare

5. Special Invitees: 

  • Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari, Minister of Road Transport and Highways

  • Shri Piyush Goyal, Minister of Commerce and Industry, Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, and Minister of Textiles 

  • Dr Virendra Kumar, Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment 

  • Shri Ashwini Vaishnaw, Minister of Railways, Minister of Communications, and Minister of Electronics and Information Technology

  • Shri Rao Inderjit Singh, Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Planning, and Minister of State in the Ministry of Corporate Affairs