Skip to main content

Sub group of Chief Ministers - Centrally Sponsored Schemes

The Sub-Group of Chief Ministers on the rationalization of Centrally Sponsored Schemes (CSS) was constituted on March 9, 2015 by the Prime Minister in pursuance of the decision taken in the first meeting of the Governing Council of the NITI Aayog held on February 8, 2015.


Chief Ministers of Arunachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Kerala, Manipur, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Lt. Governor of A & N Islands are Members of the Sub-Group. The Chief Minister Madhya Pradesh is Convener and CEO, NITI Aayog is Coordinator of the Group.


The Sub-Group undertook extensive consultations with the Central Ministries, including the Ministry of Finance, NITI Aayog and States and UTs including those which were not represented by their Chief Ministers/ LGs in the Sub-Group. In addition, at the instance of the Sub-Group, CEO/NITI Aayog undertook regional consultations at official level at Kolkata, Chandigarh, New Delhi and Hyderabad with States/UTs.


After such wide ranging consultations, the Sub-Group finalized its recommendations, which has the broad agreement of not only the member chief ministers but also of the non-member states.


Click here for the highlights, and major recommendations

Read more: Full Report of the Sub-group of Chief Ministers on Rationalisation of Centrally sponsored Schemes