Centrally Sponsored Schemes

The Subgroup of Chief Ministers on the rationalisation of Centrally Sponsored Schemes (CSS) was constituted on 9 March 2015 by the Hon'ble Prime Minister. This was in pursuance of the decision taken in the first meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog on 8 February 2015.

The Chief Ministers of Arunachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Kerala, Manipur, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, and the Lt Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands are members of the subgroup. The Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh is the convener and CEO, NITI Aayog, is the coordinator of the group.

The subgroup undertook extensive consultations with Central Ministries, including the Ministry of Finance, NITI Aayog and States and UTs, including those not represented by their Chief Ministers/LGs in the subgroup. In addition, at the instance of the subgroup, CEO, NITI Aayog, undertook regional consultations at the official level in Kolkata, Chandigarh, New Delhi and Hyderabad.

After wide-ranging consultations, the subgroup finalised its recommendations, which has the broad agreement of not only the member Chief Ministers but also of the non-member States.

Click here for the highlights and major recommendations

Read more: Full Report of the Subgroup of Chief Ministers on Rationalisation of Centrally Sponsored Schemes