State Support Mission
State Support Mission

“Every state must recognise its strength, define its targets and develop a roadmap to achieve the same as this is essential for India to become a $5 trillion economy” – Hon’ble PM

State Support Mission is an umbrella initiative by NITI Aayog aimed at fostering structured and institutionalized engagement with States and Union Territories. Its primary objective is to assist them in achieving their socioeconomic goals by 2047. The mission has been strategically designed to support States/UTs in developing a roadmap aligned with national priorities and their core strengths.

The mission has been approved with a total outlay of Rs. 237.5 crore for the period 2022-23 to 2024-25. Under the State Support Mission, NITI Aayog will extend its support to interested states in establishing State Institutions for Transformation (SITs) which will serve as a multidisciplinary resource unit, driving development strategies in the respective States/UTs. The following are the objectives of the State Support Mission:

A State Economic and Transformation Unit (SETU) will be set up in NITI Aayog to implement the mission which is headed by Joint Secretary Level officer who will be the Mission Director supported by Director, Assistant Director, Innovation Lead and YPs. The SETU will be responsible for the following:-

  1. Assisting interested States/UTs in establishing SITs or strengthening their existing Planning Departments/Boards.

  2. Strengthening the Monitoring & Evaluation ecosystem and Data Analytical systems of States/UTs for evidence-based decision making.

  3. Collaborating with States/UTs to identify key growth drivers and enablers, and utilizing them to enhance their economic growth.

  4. Facilitating States/UTs to leverage the expertise of Knowledge Institutions, Development Partners, multilateral agencies, civil society, academia, and other stakeholders.

  5. Establishing a Knowledge Platform for States/UTs to share good governance and policy practices, for cross-learning.

To ensure effective planning and seamless implementation of the Mission, two committees have been formed. The Mission Steering Committee (MSC), headed by the CEO of NITI Aayog as the Chairperson, will provide overall guidance and direction for the Mission's implementation. Additionally, a Mission Implementation Committee (MIC), headed by the Additional Secretary of NITI Aayog as the Chairperson, will be established to monitor the various activities of the State Support Mission. The MIC will also review proposals received from the States/UTs and Lead Knowledge Institutions (LKI).


a.States/UTs – States and UTs are the implementing body of the mission. They will develop their State Vision@2047, along with a roadmap and strategies to achieve it, with the support of their dedicated team known as the Programme Implementation Unit (PIU).

b. strong>Lead Knowledge Institution (LKI) – The State Support Mission acknowledges the significance of cross-sectoral partnerships to access expertise and sector-specific knowledge. In order to foster such partnership; one of the state specific knowledge institutions such as IIMs, IITs, State university or any institutions of repute may be designated as Lead Knowledge Institution by States/UTs to leverage their domain and technical expertise. The LKI may also collaborate with other institutions to facilitate the states in their endeavours.

c. Multilateral agencies/development partners – The State Support Mission harnesses the expertise, financial resources, and convening power of multilateral agencies. These agencies will engage with all stakeholders to provide support in achieving their development objectives and addressing global challenges.

Report Name Access
SSM guideline
Indicative Action Plan
ToR for hiring

1. Workshop with Knowledge Institutions

A workshop on the State Support Mission was conducted on 21st October 2022, utilizing a hybrid mode of participation. The workshop, chaired by the Additional Secretary of NITI Aayog, aimed to explore the potential roles and scope of work for Knowledge Institutions within the State Support Mission.

Distinguished institutions such as IIM Shillong, IIT Guwahati, IIT Mumbai, IIM Lucknow, IIM Jammu, IIM Vizag, and IIM Raipur actively participated in the workshop. The engagement fostered insightful discussions regarding the contributions and involvement of these institutions in the State Support Mission.

2. National consultative meeting

NITI Aayog, in its continuous endeavor to strengthen collaboration with State/Union Territories (UTs) and achieve the shared vision of Vikasit Bharat by 2047, organized a consultative meeting on 27th April 2023. The consultation saw active participation from senior officials, including Additional Chief Secretaries, Planning Secretaries, Resident Commissioners, and other esteemed representatives from 35 States/UTs.

Chaired by the Hon'ble Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog, in the presence of Hon'ble Members and the CEO, the meeting served as a platform to discuss the mandate of NITI Aayog and its unwavering commitment to partnering with States/UTs. Key topics included the promotion of knowledge and innovation, enhancing the monitoring and evaluation ecosystem, as well as recognizing the critical role of Planning Departments in driving transformative changes at the State level.

States/UTs actively contributed valuable suggestions during the consultation, expressing their expectations from NITI Aayog to further deepen the ongoing engagement and partnership. These suggestions hold significant value and will contribute to strengthening the collaborative efforts between NITI Aayog and States/UTs in fulfilling their development aspirations.

  • Hilly and North Eastern States/UT

    • Assam – SITA

    • Meghalaya

    • Uttarakhand – SETU

    • Jammu & Kashmir

  • West Coast and Island States/UT

    • Maharashtra - MITRA

  • East Coast and Islands States/UT

    • Karnataka - SITK

  • Landlocked states/UTs

    • Uttar Pradesh – STC

Knowledge Centre

The SSM Knowledge Centre is a repository of sector-specific modules which will act as the one-stop shop for states to access these modules for facilitating sector-specific interventions at the state level. These modules will comprise of standardized toolkits, templates, frameworks, documentation, research studies, working papers etc. It also includes a series of knowledge videos by domain-specific experts, comprising internal and external experts.

Who’s Who
Name Designation Email ID
Ms V Radha Additional Secretary radhav[at]ias[dot]nic[dot]in
Sh. K. S. Rejimon JS and Mission Director (SSM) ks[dot]rejimon[at]nic[dot]in
Ms Keerti Tiwari Director Keerti[dot]tiwari[at]nic[dot]in
Shri ShoyabahmedKalal Deputy Secretary s[dot]kalal[at]nic[dot]in
Dr. (Ms) Amrit Pal Kaur Public Policy Specialist amrit[dot]pal44[at]nic[dot]in
Ms Anshika Gupta Specialist anshika[dot]gupta[at]gov[dot]in
Shri Bhaskar Jyoti Kashyap Assistant Director bhaskar[dot]kashyap[at]gov[dot]in
Sh. Suman Sourav Young Professional suman[dot]sourav08[at]nic[dot]in
Subhashree Pati Young Professional Subhashree[dot]pati[at]nic[dot]in
Radhika Sarda Young Professional radhika[dot]sarda[at]niti[dot]gov[dot]in
Shubhangani Chaudhary Young Professional shubhangani[dot]c[at]niti[dot]gov[dot]in