The Administration Vertical aims to ensure a smooth and hassle-free work environment, in order to streamline administrative procedures as well as digitise processes.

Core Functions

The Administration vertical is the nodal Vertical dealing with the administrative matters of the staff and officers of NITI Aayog. It is inter-alia entrusted with the following tasks and duties:

  1. Establishment, service or recruitment of officers and officials (Group A/B/C/D officers/officials), daily wagers, outsourced staff, contractual staff and interns. Maintenance of service records and day-to-day services like appointment, relieving, retirement, resignation, postings, transfers, work allocation, medical reimbursement, leaves, LTC, eSampada, HBA, along with preparation of recruitment rules and consultancy guidelines as well as taking care of the recruitment process (advertisement, shortlisting of applications, selection of candidates, issuance of offer letters).

  2. Accounts- and pay-related matters of the above officers/officials.

  3. Pension-related matters of Government officers/officials. Handling pension matters in a centralized manner, handling Bhavishya (online tracking system for retiring officials/officers), RTI matters, pension budget-related matters and issuance of pensioner's ID cards.

  4. Housekeeping services like repair and maintenance of buildings, cleaning and sanitation; managing the staff car cell, parking arrangements; handling the central registry- receipt, distribution or dispatch of mails; managing committee rooms for meetings and seminars; making hospitality arrangements for internal and external official meetings; protocol for VIPs as well as procurement of goods and services.

  5. Nominating officers for training programmes in India and abroad; supporting delegations for participation in bilateral or multilateral meetings, seminars, conferences, forums within India and abroad or interactive sessions with IIPA, IGNFA, foreign delegations, permanent representatives of UN etc; managing passport requirements (diplomatic and official) and VISA requirements.

  6. Collection or collation of data relating to administration/personnel from different sections and divisions. Preparation of manuals and documents such as channel of submission, induction material, development of a public grievance redress mechanism. Organizing celebrations for Yoga Day and Constitution Day as well as Town Hall Meetings chaired by the VC.

  7. Handling all applications received from Indian citizens for providing information under Right to Information (RTI) on various matters under the control of public authority for disposal in accordance with RTI Act, 2005 and disposal of related appeals pertaining to the Vertical. Also, to forward and monitor disposal of RTI applications/appeals relating to other Verticals of NITI Aayog.

Line Ministries
  1. Department of Personnel and Training

  2. Department of Expenditure

  3. Department of Pension and Pensioners’ Welfare

  4. Department of Official Language

  5. Cabinet Secretariat

  6. Union Public Service Commission

  7. Bureau of Outreach and Communication (DAVP)

Who’s Who
Name Designation Email ID
Ms. Gitanjali Gupta Additional Secretary as-nitiaayog[at]gov[dot]in
Sh. K. S. Rejimon Joint Secretary ks[dot]rejimon[at]nic[dot]in
Sh. Surendra Patel Director surendra[dot]patel[at]nic[dot]in
Sh. Nirmal Kumar Bhagat Director nirmalk[dot]bhagat[at]nic[dot]in
Sh. Shoyabahmed Kalal Deputy Secretary s[dot]kalal[at]nic[dot]in
Ms. Varina Nathani Deputy Secretary varina[dot]nathani[at]nic[dot]in
Dr. Ashish Kumar Panda Deputy Secretary ak[dot]panda85[at]nic[dot]in
Sh. Vinod Kumar Deputy Secretary vinod[dot]kumar[at]nic[dot]in
Sh. Aseem Kumar Jha Deputy Secretary aseem[dot]jha[at]nic[dot].in
Shri Biswajeet Mandhata Patnaik Under Secretary biswajeet[dot]patnaik[at]gov[dot]in
Sh. Vineet Kumar Grover Under secretary vk[dot]grover[at]nic[dot]in
Sh. Rajender Singh Kaushik Under secretary kaushik[dot]rs06[at]nic[dot]in
Sh. P. Venkataramani Under secretary p[dot]venkataramani13[at]nic[dot]in
Shri Avanish Kumar Singh Under secretary avanish[dot]singh69[at]gov[dot]in
Ms. Ravinder Kaur Bains Under secretary ravinderkaurbains[dot]pb[at]nic[dot]in
Sh. Dhananjay Prasad Singh Under secretary dpsingh[at]gov[dot]in
Shri Vikram Singh Negi Under Secretary vikrams[dot]negi[at]