Skip to main content
Health & Family Welfare
Health and Family Welfare
Overview
 

The vision of the Health and Family Welfare Division is to provide policy inputs aligned to the National Health Policy 2017 and make India’s health sector robust, economically affordable, and accessible.

The Division provides advice and policy guidance to key stakeholders involved in public health development and management. It engages with the Ministries of Health and Family Welfare and AYUSH, the Department of Pharmaceuticals, the National Health Authority, State and local governments.  The Division also collaborates with reputed international and national academic institutions, research organisations, development partners and eminent experts to advance the discussion towards making long-term impacts on policy approaches for the public health sector.

Core Functions

 

  • To evaluate policies and schemes pertaining to:
    i)  Health and family welfare, with a special focus on the National Health Mission (NHM).
    ii)  AYUSH
    iii) Health research
    iv) Pharmaceuticals

  • To design strategic and long-term policy and programme frameworks and initiatives for improving health access and health outcomes in the sector.

  • To engage with relevant Ministries and Departments, examine current policies, strategies and programmes, both at the Central and state levels, and suggest appropriate modifications or mid-course corrections.

  • Analyzing and providing comments on various health-sector schemes, programmes, and projects through the appraisal of preliminary project reports; and for proposals under the EFC and SFC. Reviewing and commenting on Cabinet Notes.

  • Developing strategy papers on various thematic areas and factors that affect urban health, investment and growth opportunities in health, health finance, and insurance, etc.

  • Conducting research and analysis with reputed organisations, academic institutions and development partners and facilitate discussions with eminent experts in the domain of public health management, urban health management, health finance and insurance, medical device manufacturing, etc.

Who’s Who
Name Designation Email ID
Rakesh Sarwal Additional Secretary as-niti@gov.in 
Shoyabahmed Kalal Deputy Secretary s.kalal@nic.in
K. Madan Gopal Senior Consultant k.madangopal@gov.in
Nina Badgaiyan Senior Consultant nina.badgaiyan@nic.in<
Rajeshwari Singh Research Officer (Ayurveda) vdrajeshwari.singh@nic.in
Shobhit Kumar Research Officer (Ayurveda) shobhit.kumar@gov.in
Vikas Nariyal Research Officer (Ayurveda) vikas.nariyal@gov.in
Prasanth Regy Consultant  prasanth.regy@govcontractor.in
Hafsa Ahmad Consultant  hafsa.ahmad@govcontractor.in
Rishita Mukherjee Consultant  rishita.mukherjee@govcontractor.in
Anurag Kumar Senior Associate anurag.k91@gov.in
Deepjyot Kaur Associate deepjyot.niti@nic.in
Vaishnavi Iyer Young Professional vaishnavi.i@nic.in
Vineet Kumar Grover SO vk.grover@nic.in
Surendra Kumar Patnaik ASO patnaik.s@gov.in 
Partners
  • ICRIER, New Delhi

  • PwC India

  • IIPH Gandhinagar

  • PGIMER, Chandigarh

  • IIPA, Delhi

  • NIPFP, Delhi

Line Ministries

 

  • Ministry of Health and Family Welfare 
  • Ministry of AYUSH
  • Department of Pharmaceuticals
Reports
Projects


Ongoing 

  1. Health insurance for India’s missing middle population 

  2. Increasing access to hospitals in Tier 2 and 3 cities

  3. A feasibility study to develop models of urban primary health care delivery under ULBs, with ADB 

  4. Providing support to States in the upgradation of district hospitals to medical colleges through the PPP mode

  5. Integrative Health Policy: The Integrative Health Policy aims to bring best practices of modern medicine and AYUSH systems together to provide comprehensive healthcare to an individual and the community

  6.  The Health of Our Hospitals: Tracking the Performance of District Hospitals

 
Upcoming

  1. Health System Learnings for India from Advanced Economies