Skip to main content

Sub Group of Chief Ministers - Swachh Bharat Mission

The Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM) was launched on 2nd October, 2014 to fulfil the vision of cleaner India by October 2, 2019 as a tribute to Mahatma Gandhi on his 150th birth anniversary.


The campaign is a concerted approach and one of the biggest ever drives to accelerate the efforts towards achieving universal sanitation coverage, improving cleanliness and eliminating open defecation in the country. The Swachh Bharat Mission has both Rural and Urban Components - Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban) and Swachh Bharat Mission (Gramin). The Mission comprises components such as construction of individual household toilets, community & public toilets and solid & liquid waste management etc.


The Sub-Group on Swachh Bharat was constituted on 9 March 2015 (and partially modified on 24 March 2015) in pursuance of the decision taken at the first Governing Council Meeting of NITI Aayog held on 8 February 2015. It comprises Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Sikkim, Uttarakhand and West Bengal as Members with Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh as the Convener of the Sub-Group.


The Sub-Group held wide consultations including representatives of non-member States and Central Ministries and submitted its report to the Prime Minister on 14th October, 2015. Ministries.

Read More: Report of the Sub-Group of Chief Ministers on Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan (PDF)